The three Musketeers

The Three Musketeers is the most famous novels of Alexandre Dumas Sr., originally published in serial in the newspaper Le Siècle from March to July 1844 , then published in volume in 1844 by Baudry Editions and reissued in 1846 at JB Fellens and LP Dufour with illustrations of Vivant Beaucé . It is the first part of the novelist trilogy called “Musketeers”, to which he gives his name, followed by Twenty years later ( 1845 ) and The Vicomte de Bragelonne ( 1847 ).

The novel tells the adventures of an impecunious Gascon of 18, d’Artagnan , who came to Paris to make a career in the body of the musketeers . He became friends with Athos , Porthos and Aramis , Musketeers of King Louis XIII . These four men will oppose the prime minister, Cardinal Richelieu and his agents, including the Count of Rochefort and the beautiful and mysterious Milady de Winter , to save the honor of the Queen of France Anne of Austria .

Read more